John Speller's Web Pages Derwent Valley Railway (County Durham)

John Speller's Web Pages - North Eastern Railway
Derwent Valley Railway (County Durham) North Eastern Horizontal Menu Untitled
There were several Derwent Valley Railway in Great Britain and others overseas, but this one was a North Eastern Railway branchline in County Durham. It ran from the Newcastle & Carlisle Railway's main line at Scotswood via Blaydon, Swalwell, Rowlands Gill, Lintz Green, High Westwood, Ebchester and Shotley Bridge to Consett & Blackhill. The line was constructed between 1864 and 1864 and included the 500-foot Nine Arches viaduct near Rowlands Gill. The last passenger services ran in 1954 and the line was closed entirely on 11 November 1963.

The railway station at Lintz Green was the scene of a brutal murder on 7 September 1911. The station master, Joseph Wilson, had just seen the last train of the night off towards Newcastle, when someone threw sand in his eyes to blind him and then shot him in the head. Three of the passengers who had just got off the train heard the shot and returned to the station, but were unable to help station master Wilson, who died a few minutes later. Suspicion at first fell on Samuel Atkinson, a relief porter at Lintz Green, but there was insufficient evidence to prosecute him and the murder remained unsolved.
Map of the Derwent Valley Branch, North Eastern Railway
Rowlands Gill station in a postcard view of around 1914
Swallwell station in a postcard view of around 1914
Consett & Blackhill station, circa 1905
Site Contents Untitled