John Speller's Web Pages Churnet Valley Railway

John Speller's Web Pages - North Staffordshire Railway
Churnet Valley Railway
Untitled Untitled
The Churnet Valley Railway provided an alternative route on the North Staffordshire Railway from Derby to Manchester without having to go through Stoke. The 27 mile double-track line from Uttoxeter to North Rode near Macclesfield opened on 13 July 1849. The main town on the line was Leek (pop. 19,000). The station at Alton Towers, built at the behest of the Earl of Shrewsbury, was remarkably fine, and there were also some very picturesque spots like Rudyard Lake, after which Kipling was named. Though most of the line was closed under the Beeching Axe, part of it was reopened as a preserved railway in the 1990s.

The line was noteworthy for having an 0-4-0 battery-electric locomotive, built in 1917 by the North Staffordshire Railway for shunting at the copper works of Messrs. T. Bolton & Sons at Froghal. Built at Stoke Works, it was a joint production of the North Staffordshire Railway's Chief Mechanical Engineer, J. A. Hookham, and their Chief Electrical Engineer, A. F. Rock. It was not withdrawn until 1963, at which time it was the last North Staffordshire Railway locomotive in regular service. It is now preserved at the National Railway Museum in York.

Cheddleton Station on the preserved Churnet Valley Railway. Photograph courtesy of Wikipedia Commons
Through express from Manchester to Cromer on the Norfolk Coast via the Churchet Valley line passes Bolton's sidings near Froghal
Rushton station on 15 June 2000. Copyright Ralph Rawlinson and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence
Another view of the Churnet Valley Railway from the Golden Age of Postcards, c. 1905. This one shows Rocester Station (pronounced like a chicken which one might roast)
Site Contents Untitled